Design a site like this with
Get started

Renegades Trilogy by Marissa Meyer Series Review

Synopis of Renegades [Book #1]

Secret Identities. Extraordinary Powers. She wants vengeance. He wants justice.

The Renegades are a syndicate of prodigies — humans with extraordinary abilities — who emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone… except the villains they once overthrew.

Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and she is on a mission for vengeance. As she gets closer to her target, she meets Adrian, a Renegade boy who believes in justice — and in Nova. But Nova’s allegiance is to a villain who has the power to end them both.

So not to give away any spoilers, we will only provide the synopsis for the first book in the series!

Our Review

“Everyone has a nightmare.”

If you are looking for a trilogy that’ll blow you away, look no further. Renegades is a riveting and fast paced trilogy for any fan of a good superhero/villain story.

This series takes place in Gatlon City, where there is a council of superheros and their prodigies, collectively known as the Renagades. On one hand, we meet Adrian, who is the adopted son of two Renagade members. His power allows him to bring anything he draws to life. On the other hand, we are introduced to Nightmare, who has the power to put anyone to sleep with her touch, and yet she does not sleep. Nightmare, unlike Adrian, was not raised to be a superhero. Instead, the Anarchists, the villain group led by her uncle, Ace Anarchy, took her in after her family was murdered.

As the series progresses, we watch Nightmare go undercover within the Renagades in an attempt to take them down from the inside. Nightmare, now known as Nova to the Renagades, starts to fall for Adrian and battles her own idea of villains versus superheros. What happens in the rest of the series is an action-packed, major character growth, and a complexity of good and evil.

From the outset, this story was attention grasping and never let up. As most series go, the first book tends to start out a bit slow with a bunch of world building elements and doesn’t really pick up until the second half of the book. However, this series does not fall into that category. You are fully immersed into this world and become invested in the characters and their stories from the start.

What was most enjoyable about this series, for both of us, was the format. If you ask us what type of story we love reading the most, we can guarantee you the answer will always be multiple/dual POVs. With this story being told from both Adrian and Nova/Nightmare’s views, it provided a well rounded, in-depth perspective of both main characters’ thoughts and feelings.

While this story is told from these two POVs, there were a slew of supporting characters that deserve to be mentioned. So many characters that we absolutely fell in love with, and so many that we just loved to hate. This story would not be the same without such a well written supporting cast!

The basis of this series is the nature of power, and as the series progresses, we really get a glimpse into the characters’ growth. We watch as they figure out the grey areas in what seems like a black and white world as characters use and abuse their power and others who do everything thing can because it is the right thing to do.

As the series concludes, what does that mean for Gatlon City and its people? Will they survive Nightmare and Ace’s plans or will Adrian be able to stop them? But then, what does that mean for Adrian and Nova?

Overall, this was a well rounded trilogy, and one that we would highly recommend!

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Have you read this trilogy, or any other books by Marissa Meyer? We would love to hear your thoughts down below in the comments!! And as always, thank you for stopping by and supporting our blog!